She discussed the history , function and Organizational Structure of Department Science and Technology.
DOST was formed as the National Science Development Board in June 13, 1958, during the administration of President Carlos P. Garcia. The science body was formed as a result of a law passed in the congress upon the recommendation of Dr. Frank. Co Tui who was tasked by Garcia to conduct a survey regarding the Technology Authority(NSTA in March 17, 1981 and was given broader policy-making and program implementing function;
In June 30, 1987, during the administration of President Corazon Aquino, the NSTA was elevated to cabinet-level status with the signing of Executive Order 128, and was renamed as the Department of Science and Technology.
DOST is the executive department of the Philippine Government responsible for the Coordination of science and technology projects in the Philippines and to formulate policies and projects in the filed of science and technology in support of national development.
The function of DOST is to formulate and adopt a comprehensive National Science and Technology Plan and monitor coordinate its funding and implementation
At present, The Department of Science and technology is headed by Secretary of science and technology(Philippines) Prof. Fortunato T. Dela Pena with four undersecretaries , (1)the undersecretary of Science and Technological Services,(2)Undersecretary for Research and Development,(c) Undersecretary for Regional Operation,and (d)Undersecretary for Disaster risk reduction and Climate Change. The department has also three assistant secretaries; Assistant Secretary for Finance and Legal Affairs, Assistant Secretary for International Cooperation, and Assistant Secretary for Administration.
DOST is composed council and agencies, three(3) Sectoral planning council, Seven(7) Research and development institutes, Six (6) S&T service institutes, two(2) Collegial bodies,(Seventeen(17) Regional Offices headed by the Regional Director and Eighty(80) Provincial S&T Center(PSTCs.
To know more about DOST services, can visit our Provincial Science and Technology Center office at Sinabbaran Road, Isabela State University-Echague Compound, San Fabian, Echague, Isabela or contact us at mobile no. 0977-824-4360.


Leave a reply